This “natural” scrolling thing is bizarre.

I installed the natural scrolling applet on one of my previous Ubuntu installs after reading up on it on the interwebs, but I haven’t actually been using it until a few days ago.  The experience has been interesting, but wierd.  I suppose the logic behind it is sound, but I am still dubious of anything Apple conceived, and this is no different.  However, this hasn’t been all too bad.  It didn’t take too long to get used to and it’s actually very intuitive when I’m using my laptop’s touchpad, but there are still some moments when I get confused if I’m distracted with something other than scrolling.  It’ll probably take a few more days to get completely adapted to it, and at that point I’ll probably get really confused when I’m using someone else’s computer without it *shudder*.

Ubuntu or Ubuntu derivative users can install the Natural Scrolling applet from it’s own ppa by running the following command in the terminal:

echo "pointer = 1 2 3 5 4 7 6 8 9 10 11 12" > ~/.Xmodmap && xmodmap .Xmodmap

Have fun with your new kinetic scrolling!

[Alternatively, you can run these commands instead:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:zedtux/naturalscrolling
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install naturalscrolling

Launch it from your menu, check “natural scrolling” in the applet, and off you go!]

About Paco

#RomanCatholic | #ProLife | #Homeschooler | #EagleScout | #Arrowman | Life philosophy: Adventure!; +AMDG+; Ad Jesum Per Mariam

One response »

  1. Tushar Kumar says:

    Nice post. Thanks for sharing.

Have something to say?

